Limit Social Media

“The more social media we have, the more we think we’re connecting, yet we are really disconnecting from each other.”


Perceived Social Isolation

According to the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, PSI or Perceived Social Isolation is a state in which an individual lacks a sense of social belonging, true engagement with others, and fulfilling relationships.

Research showed young adults ages 19-36 actively using social media were more likely to feel lonely, left out, isolated, and feeling that people are “around me but not with me”.

Social Media encourages users to post perceptions of themselves that will generate the most positive engagement, but it may not be who they actually are. Most feelings of inadequacy stem from constant exposure to content that is fake or greatly exaggerated. Leaving other viewers to feel like their lives are pointless and unexciting.


Micro-moments

Micro-moments are small moments in which human beings experience a close connection with others, physically or emotionally. These shared moments of positive resonance are precious and necessary for a long, voluptuous life. Excessive use of social media discourages these precious moments, and instead, replaces them with a “heart emoticon” or “likes”.

There is no telling how the next generation will handle living in a social setting when they are constantly being bombarded with images and pictures from virtual worlds. I believe it is up to us to help younger ones understand and properly handle social media, so millennials can sustain an actual conversation.

This video is ironic considering it’s an ad for Google, but it shows various “micro-moments” that we experience.


Engagement with People

We definitely miss out on new connections and interesting interactions when we are focused on our online presence rather than our physical one. Since reading this article, I have consciously been aware of how often I am on my phone when I am trying to avoid talking to people. It’s crazy. I actually don’t even think about my actions, it has become a habit and I hate it. Especially when I am out with my family or friends.

I have learned to become aware of when and how often I am on Social Media. It has definitely helped me engage with new and exciting people everywhere I go. Now, every time I habitually pull out my phone while I am around someone, I force myself to put it away and engage in a conversation.


Why should you limit Social Media usage?

Social Media is not completely horrible, but it couldn’t hurt to limit its use and see how viewing the world through your own eyes can give you a better perspective and increase your personal relationships.

The truth is most people only post the things that represent their “best impression”. Social media elaborates on the lie that anyone can have anything they want, but the truth is it takes hard work and perseverance to be successful. The reality is nothing is truly what it seems and we always have to be on guard with what we watch and allow to affect us. Be strong in who you are and what your calling is, no matter what the rest of the world displays otherwise.


70f8fdfc846afb510f0f02fcb75dd860

Leave a Reply

